To Top

That Was Then, This Is Now

Back in the 2007 legislative session, the Senate passed a bill, 11-10, to allow certain counties to raise taxes to pay for a regional detention facility. Voting in favor of this effort to raise taxes were Republican Sens. Mark Amodei, Warren Hardy, Mike McGinness, Dennis Nolan, Bill Raggio, Dean Rhoads, Randolph Townsend and Maurice Washington.

Fortunately, the governor vetoed the bill.

Today, the Senate got an opportunity to over-ride the governor’s veto – which shouldn’t have been a problem since two of the Republican “no” votes last year, Sens. Joe Heck and Bob Beers, were defeated in November and replaced by two liberal pro-tax Democrats.

Alas, when given the opportunity to vote on this effort to raise taxes a second time, not a single Republican who voted for it in 2007 voted to over-ride the governor’s veto today.

Don’t get me wrong. I’m happy the tax hike effort failed. But I’ll be darned if I can figure out the logic of eight Republicans voting for this effort to raise taxes initially, and then changing their minds and not vote for it the second time around. Talk about schizoid.


This blog/website is written and paid for by…me, Chuck Muth, a United States citizen. I publish my opinions under the rights afforded me by the Creator and the First Amendment to the United States Constitution as adopted by our Founding Fathers on September 17, 1787 at the Constitutional Convention in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania without registering with any government agency or filling out any freaking reports. And anyone who doesn’t like it can take it up with George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Ben Franklin and John Adams the next time you run into each other.

Copyright © 2020 Chuck Muth